Apple Dumplings Recipe

Apple Dumplings Recipe

Apple Dumplings Recipe

I’ve never had Apple Dumplings before, so I made it my goal to make them at some point this fall. I was always curious about them.  I found myself pleasantly surprised by an onslaught of flavor. The Apple Dumplings ( by allrecipe.com) are warm, gooey, cozy, autumn-goodness lumps of gold that brought down the house! (This is the type of food that is served in heaven… or to get you to heaven at any rate.) I make no joke when I say this: “I think that these Apple Dumplings were one of the best desserts that I have ever tasted in my entire life!!!” I had no idea what I was in for. Apple pie is a vegetable in comparison. I cannot impress upon you how amazing this Apple Dumplings Recipe is!!! But to go on, I just have to tell you who my baking inspiration is- Snow White. If you have ever seen Walt Disney’s Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, you know that Snow White is an excellent baker. My life long goal was to be able to make an Apple Pie (or Apple Dumplings) just like Snow White did… while singing about her prince who would someday come for her and the birds fluted the pie crust with their little feet. Don’t forget that “the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.” It worked for Snow White.

Apple Dumplings Recipe:

(Makes six dumplings)

For Pastry (by Betty Crocker)

2/3 cup butter

2 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

4-5 Tbsp. cold water

For Apples:

6 small Granny Smith apples, peeled and cored

1/2 cup butter divided

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

For sauce:

3 cups water

2 cups white sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease a 13×9 inch pan.

2. On a lightly floured surface, roll pastry into a large rectangle about 24×16 inches. Then cut it into six pieces.

3. Place a cored, peeled apple on each square. Divide butter into eight pieces and put one piece into each apple’s opening. Keep the left-over butter for the sauce. Divide the brown sugar among the apples. (you can stuff the sugar in the core with the butter and/or around the apple… it doesn’t matter) Sprinkle them with the cinnamon and the nutmeg.

4. Bring one corner up to the top of the apple. Bring the opposite corner up as well and press together. Seal with two remaining corners. Slightly pinch dough at the sides to seal completely. Repeat with the remaining apples. Place them in the 13×9 inch pan.

4. In a saucepan, combine the water, sugar, reserved butter, and vanilla. Over medium heat, bring the ingredients to a boil. Boil them for five minutes. Carefully pour the sauce over the dumplings. Bake for about 50-60 minutes.

5. Serve the delicious goodness with a scoop of ice-cream or homemade whipped cream. This Apple Dumplings Recipe is SOOO scrumptious! Apple Dumplings equal great comfort food. If you want to taste heaven… this is it.

3 thoughts on “Apple Dumplings Recipe

  1. This was melt-in-your-mouth deliciousness! I think it is very near the top of my chart for desserts. It has a beautiful presentation and amazing deliciousness! Thanks, Katy! Mom

  2. Hi Katy,
    I have been looking at your blog for inspiration because I need to bring a dessert to a dinner party I am going to on Sat…I was thinking about making your apple dumplings. Do you advise serving them warm (fresh from the oven) or could they be baked earlier in the day? Also, would you recommend this recipe over the sugar plum pudding, which also looks yummy?

    • Hi Aunt Joan! Of course, coming from me, I’m going to think that *everything *is best fresh out of the oven :) But here’s what I recommend you do: I would probably prepare the dumplings (but not bake them) earlier in the day and cover them with foil until I put them in the oven. You should probably start baking them about a safe hour or hour and a half before you leave for the party. When they are finished baking, cover them with foil again so that they will keep their warmth; then you can pop off to the party with them in tow. Also, the dumplings are good with something creamy like ice cream, whipped cream, or just *cream. *In this case, I would just bring cream to drizzle over them so that nothing melts and makes a mess. :)

      As for whether you should do the dumplings or the sugar plum pudding, I have no idea! The only thing might be that, although the pudding tastes amazing, the pudding is a little bit less attractive than the dumplings when you look at it in the pan (just because of all the holes and such). Anyway, they are both great recipes in my opinion, and you cannot go wrong with either one. I hope I was helpful… have fun at the party! Love, Kate

Leave a Reply

