Chocolate Dipped Macaroons Recipe

Chocolate Dipped Macaroons Recipe

Chocolate Dipped Macaroons Recipe

Chocolate Dipped Macaroons Recipe

Chocolate Dipped Macaroons Recipe

 I’ve always loved the flavor of coconut… and unfortunately, I’ve almost always loathed the texture. The day that all changed was when I went out to lunch with my Mom and after the meal, I tried one of the shop’s macaroons. I’ve been obsessed about finding a good chocolate-dipped macaroon recipe ever since then, and now I love everything about coconut, including the texture.

When I saw this recipe (from BrowneyedBaker.com), I knew that I had found exactly what I had been looking for. Not to mention that sweetened condensed milk makes everything tasty! :) Anyway, the bottom was crisp and the center was soft, and the texture of the coconut was not the so-dreaded texture that people don’t like. It was the texture of yum, that’s what.  One thing that I might change about this recipe  (and this is a personal preference, since I’m not usually a huge chocolate person) is something with the chocolate to coconut ratio. I would either make the cookies bigger, or use milk chocolate, because I felt that the semi-sweet chocolate overpowered the flavor of the coconut somewhat. That was my (humble) observation. Still a great recipe, though!!! :)

Chocolate Dipped Macaroons Recipe:

2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk

1 egg white

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/8 tsp. salt

3 1/2 cups coconut

12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and grease a cookie sheet or cover a baking sheet with wax paper.

1. Mix the  sweetened condensed milk, egg white, vanilla, and salt together in a medium sized bowl. Add the coconut and mix.

2. Drop cookies onto prepared baking sheet. I think that the size of about two tablespoons is a good starter size and you can adjust it to your preferred size from there. The smaller the cookie, the stronger the flavor of the chocolate. The bigger the cookie, the weaker the flavor of the chocolate.

3. Bake one sheet at a time for about 15-20 minutes or until the tops of the macaroons are a golden brown. You want to be careful not to under-bake them, or they will be tricky to dip in the chocolate without them falling apart on you.

4. Let the cookies cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet before you remove them with a spatula. Then, after the cookies are cooled completely (they don’t take long to cool), dip the bottoms in the chocolate and scrape off any excess chocolate before placing the cookie(s) on a sheet of wax paper. Use a fork to drizzle chocolate lightly over the top of the macaroons, for a pretty effect.

4. Refrigerate the cookies for about 10-15 minutes or until the chocolate has set. Once the chocolate has set, you won’t need to refrigerate the cookies anymore… not even for storage, unless you want them to stay fresher longer.

5.  Snrrrmf.

Leave a Reply

