Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe

Sugar Cookies Recipe- Valentine's Day Edition

Sugar Cookies Recipe- Valentine’s Day Edition

The Love Silo of Sugar Cookies

The Love Silo of Sugar Cookies

Ahem… before I go into how much I like this recipe and blah-de-blah, I guess I should explain the photo of the hideously tall and stout cut-out cookie labeled as the Love Silo. Well, after I had rolled out almost all of the dough, all that I had left was a small ball of dough that I didn’t really feel was worth rolling out. So, I made it as tall as I could and cut it into the shape of a small heart and baked it. It was about as tall as my pinky finger is long. I let it cool for a while and my sister and I named it “The Love Silo” for the way it towered in it’s ominous, hearty glory. I frosted it several times so that there was an adequate cookie to frosting ratio (it was a mountain of frosting!), bedecked it with sprinkles,  and ate it after admiring all of it’s splendor. Unfortunately for me, I had made a trip to the orthodontist earlier that day to get my braces adjusted, so I was practically squealing from pain as I ate the cookie of wonder and light.

This recipe has been passed down in our family for generations. It might be because it’s a super-duper great recipe! It is a very traditional, tasty, snackable treat that will keep your hands (and everyone else’s hands) in the cookie jar. I can never get enough of these cookies. When I taste one, it doesn’t seem to last long enough, so I end up sneaking another… and another… maybe one more… just a snitch, perhaps… mmm…

Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe:

(Makes… a lot of cookies)

4 cups plus 4 Tbsp. flour

1 cup butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup powdered sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. cream of tartar

Frosting:

powdered sugar

milk

vanilla

butter

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and set out two cookie sheets.

2. Beat the white sugar and butter together. Add the rest of the ingredients.

3. Roll dough into balls and flatten with the bottom of a sugared cup.

4. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Frost.

5. (nom-nom-nom-nom…)

Note:

1. The dough will be extremely soft.

2. For cut-out cookies: because the dough is so soft, it is a little tricky, but still easily done. If it proves to be too difficult to roll out the dough, I recommend refrigerating the dough for 30-60 minutes. Roll out gently on a lightly floured surface. The dough should be about 1/4 inch thick. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Enjoy!

Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe (Flowers)

Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe (Flowers)

Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Autumn

Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Autumn

2 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe

Leave a Reply

