Blueberry-Orange Cupcakes Recipe

Blueberry-Orange Cupcakes Recipe

Blueberry-Orange Cupcakes Recipe

Blueberry-Orange Cupcakes Recipe

Blueberry-Orange Cupcakes Recipe

Blueberry-Orange Cupcakes Recipe

Blueberry-Orange Cupcakes Recipe

Well, this is officially my first ever recipe that is MINE. MINE MINE MINE. :) Do you think I’m excited? I used a base recipe but made many changes on the first go, including the portions of the sugar, eggs, filling, frosting, and many other ingredients in the cupcakes. I also changed the flavor and texture of the frosting and the flavor of the cupcakes. Of course, I was debating about  my Lenten resolution to not eat sweets… but how would I know if I had put in too much or too little flavoring if I couldn’t even taste it? That would make things difficult. Well, I figured that God would understand… and I don’t think that he will condemn me to fry for eternity in my afterlife just because I had a snitch of cupcake batter. :)

Anyway, I thought that these little treats were very good. The cupcakes were bursting with orange  flavor and the filling was a nice contrasting surprise. The frosting was great too- it was soft and a great final fruity touch to the cupcakes. Not everyone thinks of orange and blueberry as a must-try first fruit combination but I thought that the two flavors tasted VERY good together! I would really appreciate it if you would maybe give it a try and please please give me some feedback on the first dessert that I have ever invented. :)

Blueberry-Orange Cupcakes Recipe:

For Cupcakes:

2 cups plus 2 tbsp. sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) butter

1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese

4 eggs plus 2 egg yolks

2 tsp. vanilla

2 tbsp. orange extract

3 cups flour

3 tsp. baking powder

1 1/4 tsp. salt

For Filling:

2 cups fresh blueberries (or 1 cup frozen, drained+thawed)

1 cup sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

2 tsp. orange extract

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/4 tsp. salt

For Frosting:

1/2 cup shortening

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

1 lb (4 cups) powdered sugar

2 1/2 tsp. orange extract

1/2 tsp. vanilla

2 Tbsp. milk

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a muffin tin with paper cups OR grease the muffin tins generously.

2. In an electric mixer,  cream the butter, sugar, eggs + egg yolks, cream cheese, vanilla, and orange extract until smooth. Add the other ingredients and mix until well incorporated. Fill each muffin cup 3/4 of the way full and bake for 16-19 minutes or until an inserted toothpick or knife comes out clean. (Yes, the filling doesn’t go in yet. I know it’s surprising, but you’ll see how it comes together later.) Allow to cool to room temperature.

3. In a small pan, mix all of the filling ingredients together and cook over medium heat until a thick consistency (about the consistency of canned pie filling). Allow it to cool in the refrigerator until it is thoroughly chilled. It is very important that the filling is not warm. Do the next step while the filling cools.

4. With an electric mixer, cream the shortening and butter. Add the sugar, orange extract, vanilla, and milk; beat until smooth.  Put the frosting into a piping bag with a large star tip or set the frosting aside.

5. Using a sharp knife, carefully cut cylinders out of the centers of the cooled cupcakes; save them… do not eat them. :) Spoon the filling into each empty cupcake center and “re-cap” it with the cupcake centers. Frost the cupcakes.

6. Enjoy, and be sure to let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Blueberry-Orange Cupcakes Recipe

  1. Omg, these were SO DELICIOUS! Followers, be sure to share this recipe… but make sure you credit Katy-did and link back to her blog! She deserves it for this AWESOME, AWESOME work!

Leave a Reply

