Peanut Butter Pie Recipe

Peanut Butter Pie Recipe

Peanut Butter Pie Recipe

Peanut Butter Pie Recipe

Peanut Butter Pie Recipe

Peanut Butter Pie Recipe

Peanut Butter Pie Recipe

I have been looking for a good peanut butter pie recipe for ever. No matter what recipe I found or looked at, none of the pies seemed quite right… even this one (adapted from LoveThatFood.com) had to be tweeked a little by some random teenager called Katy. :) Anyway, other than some fixed proportions, I didn’t have to change much. I just thought that… hm… perhaps it would be best if the crust covered the bottom and the sides of the pie plate instead of sparsely coating the bottom.

For me, this recipe hits two birds with one stone. Cream cheese and peanut butter! Could it get much better??? I’ve been craving peanut butter lately and ever since my uncle mentioned peanut butter pie to me I knew that I had to get my hands on a recipe! I have found that I’ve been getting better at finding good recipes online whereas when I first started, I came across many bum recipes. The key is not to focus on the presentation of the dessert… look for goo. Look for messy. And make sure you like the taste of the ingredients. :)

This pie was a hit. My family devoured all but one tiny slice of pie which no one could manage to squeeze in. My sister, after one bite, said “Put this pie on the favorites list.” So, I guess I should respect by elders and obey… what a bummer (NOT!!!!!!!!!). Anyway, the peanut butter pie was very soft, creamy, flavorful, and the oreos added a great crunch to contrast the fluffy, pudding-y filling.

Peanut Butter Pie Recipe:

For the Crust:

2 1/4 cups double stuf oreo cookies crumbs (about 20 cookies)

7 tbsp. white sugar

7 tbsp. butter, melted

For the Filling:

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese

1 cup sugar

1 tbsp. butter

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup heavy whipping cream

For the Topping (optional):

1/4 (12 oz.) bags milk chocolate chips (melted), grated chocolate, or oreo cookie crumbs

Directions:

1. For the Crust: Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and set out one pie plate. In a small mixing bowl, mix the crushed oreos, butter, and sugar together until well combined. Press the mixture into the pie plate and bake it for ten minutes. Remove the pie from the oven and, if the crust has sunken to the bottom of the plate, use a spoon to re-press the crust (while it’s hot) to the pan. Allow it to cool completely.

2. For the Filling: In a large mixing bowl, mix all of the filling ingredients (except the whipping cream) together by hand until smooth. In a separate bowl fitted to an electric mixer, whip the whipping cream until stiff peaks form. Fold the whipped cream into the peanut butter mixture until well combined. Pour the filling into the cooled pie plate and place the pie in the freezer (no worries, the pie does not get hard in the slightest… it gets chilled but remains soft. That’s how mine was even after I left mine in the freezer for several hours!).

3. For the Topping (optional): Melt the chocolate chips and use a fork to drizzle the melted chocolate over the pie; return the pie to the freezer until it is served. OR sprinkle the grated chocolate over the pie before returning it to the freezer. OR sprinkle the oreo crumbs over the pie before returning it to the freezer.

4. For the Eating: This part is fairly self-explanatory, I think… :)

Leave a Reply

