Creamy Caramels Recipe

Creamy Caramels Recipe

Creamy Caramels Recipe

Creamy Caramels Recipe

Creamy Caramels Recipe

Creamy Caramels Recipe

Creamy Caramels Recipe

“Oh, caramel! Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?” My sister and I use that phrase for anything that we love… and my sister adores caramels! My sister was desperately wanting this recipe to be put to use, so we made the candies when we were pressed for time and ended up finishing the caramel 2 1/2 minutes before we had to leave for a graduation party. At this point, I hadn’t even gotten out of my pajamas yet and my dad gave me a quizzical look. “You are I coming with us, right?” he asked. Of course I was! Thus, I set my record speed for getting my makeup, hair, and outfit presentable and polished in the course of two minutes. I was (and obviously still am) very proud of that time. :)

As for the caramels, they tasted horrible. Kidding!!! They were great!!! I love the taste of caramels and these ones were very creamy (hence the name) and deliciously soft, making the perfect caramel recipe. As for the bonus: these caramels are very easy to make if you just have a good candy thermometer. If you’re not sure that your thermometer is accurate, see my Note: at the bottom of the recipe. :)

Creamy Caramels Recipe:

4 cups sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) butter + some for greasing the pan

4 cups (1 qt.) half-and-half
3/4 cup light corn syrup
 Directions:
1. Grease bottom and sides of a 13×9 inch pan with butter.
2. In a large saucepan and over medium heat, heat the sugar, corn syrup, butter, and two cups of half-and-half over medium heat, stirring constantly. Stir in remaining half-and-half to boiling. Continue to cook over medium heat, stirring all the while, until the caramel mixture is 245 degrees (if you would like to see pictures of the boiling process, see below) Immediately pour the mixture into the prepared pan.
3. Allow the caramel to cool for several hours to room temperature. Cut the caramel into squares or rectangles and, if you like, wrap them in wax paper .
4. Time to know the true glory…. OF CANDY!
Note:
If you aren’t sure that your thermometer is accurate, boil some water and see what the thermometer reads the temperature as. If it reads as 212 degrees, it is accurate. If it does not, (say it read 214 degrees) then you know that it is two degrees too hot; therefore, you should heat the caramel mixture to 243 degrees (according to your inaccurate thermometer) in order for it actually to be 245 degrees on an accurate thermometer. I hope that I explained that clearly. :)
Stage one of the boil

Stage one of the boil

Stage two of the boil

Stage two of the boil

The last stage of the boil- ready for the pan

The last stage of the boil- ready for the pan

Leave a Reply

