Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe

Ah! It feels so good to be back on the blog after being on vacation for two weeks. Before I left I was baking like crazy so that I would have some recipes to post as soon as I got back; however, typing two blog posts at once seemed a lot harder to write when I wrote them consecutively. Oh well. So here I am, sitting in front of the computer typing about typing. I guess I’ll stop boring you with such dull matters now. :)

It used to be that I despised almonds on top of my strawberry shortcake, but this time was different. I find it oddly amusing to observe how my tastes in food change over time… it seems like everything I love now I couldn’t stand then. Anyway, the almonds- they added such a nice crunch to the soft, moist  shortcake! It was a lovely contrast and only got better when I added some fresh strawberries for zing, ice cream to repel the heat of summer, and cream because it was simply too healthy (note the sarcasm:)… oh, and maybe some whipped cream would be nice, too. My mom makes this recipe (from my aunt), at the very least, once every summer when the strawberries come into season, and it is always a much anticipated treat!

Strawberry Shortcake Recipe:

For the Cake:

3/4 cup white sugar

2 1/3 cup Bisquick

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

2 tbsp. butter

1 tsp. vanilla

For the Crumble Topping:

1 tbsp. butter

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup almonds

For the Garnish:

strawberries

whipped cream

half and half cream

vanilla ice cream

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and set out a greased 8×8 inch pan.

2. For the cake: In a medium bowl, mix all the ingredients together by hand. Pour the batter into the prepared 8×8 pan. Bake for 15 minutes before adding the  topping (directions below).

3. For the crumble topping: In a small bowl, mix the almonds and the brown sugar together. Cut the butter into the bowl and mix the mixture with your hands until the butter is thoroughly crumbled into the topping. Sprinkle the topping on (after the cake has been baking for 15 minutes) and bake the cake for an additional 15 minutes or until an inserted knife comes out clean.

4. Serve each piece of cake with the suggested garnishes. This dessert will totally get you into the summer mood! Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

