Cream Cheese Thumbprint Cookies Recipe

Cream Cheese Thumbprint Cookies Recipe

Cream Cheese Thumbprint Cookies Recipe

Cream Cheese Thumbprint Cookies Recipe

Cream Cheese Thumbprint Cookies Recipe

This one was a package deal. Not only did I get to make some fun cookies, but I also got to enjoy a fun afternoon of going to a convenience store a few times. Literally, I went twice and I had fun both times. Alright, so here’s how it started off… when I decided to make these cookies  the other day and the time came for me to fill the cookies, I realized that I had no powdered sugar. So, I persuaded my sister to drive me to a convenience store roughly two minutes away. Let me tell you that that store has anything and everything. It has, many times, been a life saver for me because an essential or two ingredient ran out during the making of a new recipe. Many times, my family will debate if they carry something and resolve to calling them and finding out that, yes… of course they carry it. Anyway, my sister and I got some powdered sugar and brought it up to the register. The woman there was very friendly and asked me what I was making. I told her about the cookies. She laughed and jokingly asked us to drop a few off as she would be there for a little while yet.  When I got home, I finished making the cookies and smiled. My sister loaded a few cookies on a plate and we went back to the store to give her some cookies. :) Unfortunately, she wasn’t there anymore, but we asked someone to give them to her, along with one of my business cards. My sister and I were smiling for the rest of the afternoon. Some things just make me feel happy. :)

One thing that I had to laugh about with these cookies is that the directions said to drizzle the chocolate over the cookies. True, yes… but in the picture they had obviously piped the chocolate on. It was totally a “Hey look at this! This drizzle is perfectly round and beautiful! You can do it too!” Not without piping it on, no! No way! So instead I followed the directions that the picture gave me… I piped the chocolate on instead of drizzling it on. The other thing was that the directions were way way WAY overly complicated (it was really funny, actually). Anyway, the cookies were very good. The cookie is a butter-y shortbread base and the filling is… well… it’s cream cheese filling(!!!). If you’ve read any of my posts, then you know that that is an instant love for me! The chocolate was an excellent complement to the creamy filling and the cookies were, over-all, excellent treats. They were the perfect sweetness for a cookie and were very snack-able and snitch-able. :)

Cream Cheese Thumb Print Cookies (from TasteofHome Cookies):

For the Cookies:

2/3 cup butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

For the Filling:

6 oz. cream cheese

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

2 tbsp. flour

1 tsp. vanilla

For the Drizzle/Piping:

3/4 cup milk chocolate chips

3 tbsp. butter, softened or melted

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and set out two greased cookie sheets.

2. For the Cookies: In abowl fitted to an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar together. Add the egg and vanilla and beat well until smooth. Slowly mix in the flour, baking powder, and salt until thoroughly combined. Roll the dough into tablespoon sized balls and flatten the balls slightly with the palm of your hand to make a fat disc. Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes or until the edges of the cookies just start to turn golden brown. Remove the cookies from the oven and immediately make a large indent in the cookies with your thumb or make a thumb-sized indentation with the end of a wooden spoon handle.

3. For the Filling: In a medium bowl, mix the cream cheese, powdered sugar, vanilla, and flour together until smooth. Fill the cookies with about 1 or 2 tsp. of filling each.

4. For the Drizzle/Piping: In the microwave, melt the chocolate and stir until smooth. Add the butter and microwave a little bit more if it has to melt some more. Stir until well combined and drizzle or pipe the topping over the cookies.

5. Serve with a smile.

Leave a Reply

