Yum Yum Cake Recipe

Yum Yum Cake Recipe

Yum Yum Cake Recipe

Yum Yum Cake Recipe

Yum Yum Cake Recipe

Yum Yum Cake Recipe

Yum Yum Cake Recipe

First off is the explanation of the vague name… my Mom re-named this cake many years ago when she had her arms full with toddlers. I remember looking through a cookbook and I saw the recipe. “Hey!” I thought. “This recipe looks the same as Yum Yum Cake.” Come to find out, I had discovered the cake’s original title. My eyes just about fell out of my head when I realized what it was really  called. WHAT???  I still much prefer to call it Yum Yum Cake and I’m sure that I always will. :)

Anyway… let me just say that this is not an unusual birthday cake request in my household. :) As soon as you look at the ingredients, you’ll know why too. Maybe it’s because this cake is decadent, gooey, crunchy, fluffy, and it hits you hard (all at the same time!).  Oh, and did I mention that it’s probably the easiest thing that you’ll ever make (yes, I’m ordering you to make it!)? There’s not a single thing that you have to measure because it’s all prepackaged. :)

I entered this recipe in the county fair this year. I’ve never done anything in the fair, really… so this year is a first. I wasn’t completely sure what to do, so I just kind of had to go with the flow. But I was feeling pretty confident that this cake would do well. I was happy when I found out that it got second place. :) My mom and I stayed for the auction and I had to laugh at her very uneconomical decision to buy the cake back. Apparently she wanted to hoard the glorious-ness of the cake for our family and she didn’t have the patience to wait for me to make a new one when we got home. :) You have to believe me when I say that I gave her a good tease about that!

Yum Yum Cake Recipe( from the Devil’s Food Cookbook):

1 box German Chocolate cake mix

1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk

1 (17 oz.) jar Mrs. Richardson’s Butterscotch Caramel Sauce

1 (8 oz.) container Cool Whip

1 (8 oz.) bag of Heath candy bits

Directions:

1. Prepare the German chocolate cake as directed on the box (bake in a 13×9 inch pan, not two round pans). After it has finished baking and cooled for a little while, use the end of a wooden spoon to poke many holes all over the cake (don’t be shy. No one will ever see the holes but you!) and pour the caramel sauce and sweetened condensed milk over the cake.

2. When you’re sure that the cake is COMPLETELY cooled, frost it with the Cool Whip. Sprinkle as much or as little of the Heath bits on top of the cake as you wish.

3. “We have a volunteer to serve the cake. Let  the yums begin… and may the calories be ever in your favor.”

– Katy’s adapted quote from The Hunger Games

2 thoughts on “Yum Yum Cake Recipe

  1. This is my FAVORITE cake recipe. I especially love it after it’s been in the fridge. And I always use Mrs Richardson’s caramel butterscotch sauce. This is my birthday cake request hands down!

Leave a Reply

