Apple Butter Whoopie Pies Recipe

Apple Butter Whoopie Pies Recipe

Apple Butter Whoopie Pies Recipe

Apple Butter Whoopie Pies Recipe

Apple Butter Whoopie Pies Recipe

Apple Butter Whoopie Pies Recipe

Apple Butter Whoopie Pies Recipe

You have to  trust me on this one- they’re not the prettiest cookies on the planer but they are SO GOOD! The apple butter gives the cookies their great and unusual (for a cookie) flavor. The apple flavor is gently and sweetly complemented by the butter-y brown sugar taste of the actual cookies. Oh yeah- this recipe has cream cheese!  I realized just a moment ago, after a quick calculation, that about 20% of my blog posts contain cream cheese. Sorry about that… I guess I just love cream cheese too much. :)

Anyway, my cousin came for a visit this weekend and she was very enthusiastic about making some things that I could post on my blog. So, she, my sister, and I baked three things to take pictures of and post and made one thing already on my blog. It was a baking frenzy and so much fun! And it just felt good to make something fall-ish. I’m SOOO excited for fall! Don’t get me wrong, I love summer, but fall is a good time of year too. The air is cool and crisp and the landscape seems to be bursting with color! That’s my personal heaven.  I’m not one for the heat. In the summer, I seem to become a nocturnal creature if it means avoiding heat.

Apple Butter Whoopie Pies (adapted from Mrs. Fields):

For the Cookies:

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

2 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

For the Filling:

1 1/2 pkgs. (12 oz.) cream cheese

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup apple butter

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and set out two ungreased cookie sheets.

2. In a bowl fitted to an electric mixer, cream the butter, white sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, and eggs together until smooth. Add the flour, baking soda, and salt and mix together on a low speed until just combined.  Be sure not to over mix the dough.

3.  Roll the dough into marble sized balls (or regular sized if you want. I do a mix) and bake for 10-12 minutes. DO NOT BROWN THE COOKIES. Allow them to cool for several minutes until they have firmed up and can be removed with a spatula.

4. In a medium bowl, beat all of the filling ingredients together until smooth. Refrigerate for 10 minutes if you think the filling is too runny.  Spread filling on the bottom of one cooled cookie and top with another cookie to create a sandwich. Repeat with the rest of the cookies. Refrigerate until served.

5. Serve on a nice fall day… or, in my case, any day of the year. :)

Leave a Reply

