Beer Bread Recipe

Beer Bread Recipe

Beer Bread Recipe

Beer Bread Recipe

Beer Bread Recipe

My sister stabbing the bread...

My sister stabbing the bread…

Whenever I think of beer bread, I think of a beautiful fall evening when my dad made a fire in our living room and my family sat down and watched the movie Mulan as we snarfed down some beer bread that my sister had made (I specifically remember her forgetting to put in the sugar). How’s that for a cozy memory? It seems both classic and comical to me. I have to say, though, the beer bread was still fabulous. :)

You’ll probably never see an easier bread recipe. This one is about as good as it gets!  The bread is very moist, flavorful, and unusual in that it.. well… has beer in it.  So (at least to me) it has a unique taste and I cannot imagine drinking something that has such a strong flavor that you can flavor a whole recipe with it. That must be one strong tasting beverage… anyway, it sounds odd doesn’t it? Beer bread? Well let me reassure you. IT IS NOT. It’s probably one of my favorite quick breads ever in existence (spare me from the teasing that I’ll get from that comment!!!).  Not only is it all that I said above, but the turbinado sugar makes the bread even better  when it adds its sweet crunch. It makes my mouth water just to think of it!

Beer Bread Recipe (from Lial Family Cookbook):

(makes one loaf)

3 cups flour

1 tbsp. baking powder

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup sugar

1 (12 oz.) can warm bud light beer

Turbinado sugar for sprinkling

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and set out one greased 9x5x3 or 8 1/2×4 1/2×2 1/2 inch bread pan.

2. In a large bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients together. Pour in the beer and mix until thoroughly combined. Pour the batter into the pan and sprinkle well with turbinado sugar. Bake for 50-60 minutes or until an inserted knife comes out clean. Allow to cool to prefered temperature (I like mine warm).

3. Serve for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and to the cows that come home. :)

Leave a Reply

