Pear Crescent Cookies (Rugalach) Recipe

Pear Crescents (Rugalach) Recipe

Pear Crescents (Rugalach) Recipe

Pear Crescents (Rugalach) Recipe

Pear Crescents (Rugalach) Recipe

Pear Crescents (Rugalach) Recipe

Pear Crescents (Rugalach) Recipe

Pear Crescents (Rugalach) Recipe

Pear Crescents (Rugalach) Recipe

When my sister tasted these she said “Oh, wow. They’re like little pies! Geez, they’re so good!” She was eating them before dinner, as was I (naughty, naughty). She was spot on with her comment, except for when she added that they looked somewhat like caterpillars :) Anyway, these cookies really are like miniature pies. The actual crescent is  very pastry-like and the cream cheese in it is another interesting addition that makes it softer. I don’t quite know how to put it, but the cream cheese adds somewhat of a “gentleness” to the taste of the cookie. Maybe it’s just that hint of creaminess that makes it to pleasant to me. :) At any rate, the filling is good too. There is also cream cheese in the filling, along with pears, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE (etc.) pears!!!!

These are not as hard as they look. I’m just putting that out there. There is no cutting butter in for the crescents or weird things that need to be this temperature or dough that needs to be refrigerated. NO. This was one of those recipes that I saw and laughed at when I read the directions. It had all these things that were so complicated, and I knew that it wouldn’t affect the outcome (a.k.a. the cookies’ appearance or taste). Sometimes I get a good kick out of the things that recipes will direct you to do. Needless to say, I wouldn’t usually recommend skipping directions.

Ah. Do you ever wish that days were actually 36 hours long instead of 24 hours long? That’s me right now. I wrote most of this post at 1:30 a.m., so I was desperate for a longer day. It’s not uncommon for me to be up until one or two o’clock in the morning. Of course, then I sleep late, too. I’m no early bird, noooooo sireeeeeeeeeeee… I’m a late owl. My sister is usually my partner in crime in this department. Last summer, we stayed up until 2 o’clock almost every night. When I was really young (imagine me around age 6), I used to wonder how on earth my siblings could sleep for all eternity and HOW, OF ALL THINGS, could they ever want to got to bed?!?!?!?!?!? I understand now… all too well, I think. I’ve had some times this year when the only “equation” I could think of in math class was this: sleep+ infinity number of hours= heaven x life completion. I cannot tell you how many times I have told my sister that I wish I was Sleeping Beauty; not because I would be a princess (although it would be a plus), but because then I could sleep for 100 years on end. I still hold the records in my class for least amount of sleep and waking up the earliest… it’s a bittersweet accomplishment.

Pear c Cookies (Rugalach) Recipe (Adapted from Taste of Home):

(Makes one dozen)

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, divided

1 cups all-purpose flour

one dash of salt

1/2 cup finely diced pear (about one medium)

2 Tbsp. white sugar

1 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and set out one ungreased cookie sheet.

2. In a large bowl, cream the butter and 4 oz. cream cheese until light and fluffy. Combine flour and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. Combine sugar and cinnamon; set aside.

3. On a floured surface, roll out the dough into a 12-inch circle. Cut it into 12 wedges. In a small bowl, microwave the other 4 oz. cream cheese until it is easy to spread.Then, spread the cream cheese evenly on each wide end of the crescents. Sprinkle the prepared cinnamon sugar over each crescent evenly. Next, top each crescent with 1 teaspoon of pear (you won’t use the entire 1/2 cup diced pear, just FYI).

4. Roll up, beginning at wide end. Place pointed side down 2 inches apart on baking sheet; curve ends to form a crescent.

5. Bake for 12  minutes, no more. They might not look any different than when you put them in, but trust me… take them out after 12 minutes. If you flip one over, the bottom should be golden brown, or even a tad lighter is fine. Immediately remove to cool.

6. Enjoy! <3

Leave a Reply

