Magic Cake (Custard Cake) Recipe

Magic Cake (Custard Cake) Recipe

Magic Cake (Custard Cake) Recipe

Magic Cake (Custard Cake) Recipe

Magic Cake (Custard Cake) Recipe

Before I say anything else, I must apologize for the pictures. It’s a little tricky to see the layers, but believe me… they’re there. They are also kind of blurry and the lighting is weird so… I guess you just have to make it yourself to see what it really looks like! I don’t think that this one deserves its name. I mean sure, it tastes like magic, but it was supposed to be “woo, look! The batter divided into three layers! How fascinating!” No. We all know that things that are less dense float and things that are more dense sink. Mind blown (not). It’s just funny. Anyway, this recipe should be called Custard Cake, in my opinion. BUT, I kept it with the name “Magic Cake” because that is the name by which it is most commonly known…

Anyway, this is a really good dessert! It is a very smooth consistency and quite creamy. And, as I mentioned, it becomes layered when it settles during the time that it bakes. The top is basically a meringue, the center is more of the custard part, and the bottom is the crust. It is more like a pudding and less like a cake, so don’t let the name deceive you. :)

Well, I realized just a few moments ago that I haven’t posted anything since summer break. I have had quite a few other things occupying my time, to be sure: a wedding, school, extracurricular activities, etc. (by the way, I did not get the home room I was hoping for, if you read the last post, although I still really like the one I am in, which I did not expect). To get to the point, sorry for the long delay between posts. In fact, today I was doing my homework, and I finally just threw my hands up and said “I’m doing this later.” That’s me with math. I get it, but whenever I come across one problem that I can’t solve, I obsess over it for a couple of hours until I either solve it or rip my hair out in the process. Overall though, it is going well. It’s do-able. Mostly,  it’s just weird to see the freshman. Aside from school, I have also been practicing for a musical that just showed and will be showing again this weekend. It is really fun, even though I am really bad at dancing. You may laugh at me and say that it’s not true, but it is, trust me. Proof: At one point, I faced planted on stage. To be honest, I was surprised that I wasn’t even embarrassed I just started to laugh (luckily, I don’t think anyone even noticed since I was in the background at the time).

I don’t know if I have ever really mentioned it on my blog, but I really like to write stories. I am especially enthusiastic about it right now because I had a major brainstorm over the summer (I am pretty sure that I am incapable of being creative during the school year when my brain is stuffed with math and chemistry). Anyway, I won’t give the details because, well… You can say I’m a dreamer, but I really want to get a couple of books published someday. I have a lot of ideas floating around in my head, and all that it would take to assemble them into a book would be some free time (as in after college). You see, in the summer, the first month of summer is spent reveling in the triumph of not having to write and essay or anything else. The second month is spent doing summery things like vacation, family reunions, etc., that take up lots of time. The last two weeks are the time where I write like crazy and then school hits and I stop writing things that aren’t essays and notes. Then summer comes again and the cycle continues. :) At any rate, I wrote a several hundred page book a few years ago, but the trouble is that by the time I get to the end, my writing has improved (which is good), but then I have to redo the beginning because it stinks. And when I redo the beginning, then the beginning and the end are good, but the middle stinks. So, I have just learned to rewrite the whole thing. But then after I rewrite the whole thing, my writing has improved, and I am back where I started. To get to the point, I have been working on the same story for about three years. I really want to finish it, but I keep coming up with new things to add to it. Also… I never realized how much I did it, but I really base a lot of my characters and setting off of real life people and places. One funny thing that happened to me this summer was when I went hiking at Isle Royale for a week with my sister and dad. There was a hiker there that we saw a couple of times and he is now a character in one of my books because he looked very much like the perfect person to “play the role.” It’s like casting people in a movie, except the actors don’t know that they’re in the movie.  Maybe I’m just flat-out weird, but I must say… isn’t it strange to think that we can impact some people just by existing?

Magic Cake (Custard Bars) Recipe (by Jo Cooks):

4 eggs, separated (yolks from whites)

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup sugar

1 stick (½ cup) butter, melted

¾ cup of all-purpose flour

2 cups milk (1% or better. No skim.)

powdered sugar for dusting cake

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease a 8 inch x 8 inch baking dish.

2. Separate eggs and add the egg whites to a mixer; mix until egg whites are stiff. Place egg whites in a bowl and set aside.

3. Beat the egg yolks with the sugar until light. Add butter and vanilla extract and continue beating for another minute or two after which you can add the flour and mix it in until fully incorporated.

4. Slowly start adding the milk and beat until everything is well mixed together. Add the egg whites, a third at a time and gently fold them in using a spatula, repeat until all egg whites are folded in.

5. Pour batter into baking dish and bake for 40-70 minutes or until the top is lightly golden. Note: the baking time could vary greatly depending on the oven, so take a peek at around 40 minutes and see how it looks.
6. Sprinkle some powdered sugar after cake has cooled.
7. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Magic Cake (Custard Cake) Recipe

Leave a Reply

