Orange Chicken Recipe

Orange Chicken Recipe

Orange Chicken Recipe

Orange Chicken Recipe

Orange Chicken Recipe

I was so sure that I would never branch out with this blog. I thought to myself when I started it, “I will only bake things sweet for this.” Well, I’ve discovered that I like a little more variety and experience to add to my culinary practices! That being said, you can expect a bit more of a variety from me this year- desserts, breakfasts, dinners, appetizers, breads, sided dishes, anything. And yes, I mean to keep up with this blog all year! :) I’m hoping to post about once a week, so as not to abandon you all! I was scrolling through my drafted posts, and I was absolutely appalled. There is a recipe that has been in my drafts for two years… Oops. I figured I should get a little better about keeping up with this thing! And summer is a great time to kick back into gear.

Well, I’m now a junior in high school. It is a bit weird to me… I’m halfway done? I feel like I’ve only just started high school, and yet, I also feel like I’ve been going there for a century. It felt long during the year, but now I’m just sitting here thinking “I want to be a freshman…” But, joking aside, I am so excited for Junior year! And SENIOR YEAR! I arranged my schedule such that I’ll have all my favorite teachers senior year, which I am very excited about! Even though I know the courses will be hard, I know I’ll have a blast in all my classes senior year. But not to forget about Junior year. Just a little nervous about taking physics. The rest I should be able to handle. Also, I’ll be taking a class on Shakespeare, and another class on Bioethics, which should prove interesting. The funny thing is, freshman year, my friends thought it was humorous how I planned to spend freshman and sophomore year doing all the required classes, leaving no room for electives. But now the tables have turned, because almost half my schedule can now be filled with electives, where my friends are now wishing that they’d gotten phys ed and computer apps over with (smug smile). My schedule came with its own complications, though. I made my schedule, turned it in, changed it, turned it in again, changed it again, turned it in for the third time, and was told that I should consider changing it one more time. Like I said. It came with a few complications. :)

Now that I have finished writing that novel, I suppose I should mention the recipe. I highly recommend it, as usual! The chicken is crisp and saucy, sweet, and tangy. It goes nicely over rice, and it a pretty good stand alone meal, though fruit and/or veggies go well with it too. Putting some sugar snap peas or snow peas in can even be good in this recipe. It’s pretty versatile, and pleasing to the taste buds. :) It’s not difficult or too time consuming, either, as many Chinese chicken recipes can be… it took me 25 minutes to make, and it’s a new family favorite! Overall, you can’t go wrong with this one.

Note: This recipe takes 25 minutes to make and yields 4 servings.

Orange Chicken Recipe (by Gimme Some Oven):

For the chicken

2 lbs chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces

salt and pepper (to taste)

2 tbsp. olive oil

For the sauce

1 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 cup orange juice

1/2 cup honey

1/3 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup vinegar

3 tbsp. cornstarch

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/2 tsp. pepper

zest from one orange

a pinch or crushed red pepper flakes

4 servings rice, prepared as directed on the box

For the Toppings (optional but recommended)

Green onions, chopped

Orange zest

Sesame seeds

Directions:

1. Set out a frying pan and heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add all the chicken, and add salt and pepper generously. Saute chicken until it is browned and cooked thoroughly.

2. For the sauce, whisk all the ingredients together until thoroughly blended. When the chicken is done, pour the sauce into the frying pan and stir continuously until the sauce thickens, about 1-2 minutes.

3. Serve over rice and top with chopped green onions, orange zest, and sesame seed as desired.

4.  Eat well and prosper!
3 thoughts on “Orange Chicken Recipe

  1. Made this last night for dinner…it was delicious! Uncle Jim called it very “aromatic” and both boys gave it the thumbs up! It will definitely be going into the rotation. Thanks Kate! Bought ingredients today for the Pum Pum Cake and will make it this weekend for a dinner party while Grandma is here:)

Leave a Reply

