Saint Lucian Chocolate Tea Recipe

Sorry! I don’t have a picture for this recipe, but trust me… it’s amazing!

Chocolate Tea. I swoon at the very mention of it! I found out about this liquidized heaven when I was on a trip to Saint Lucia. I stayed at the La Haut Plantation with my mom and sister and every morning the plantation staff would have a breakfast buffet prepared… at the end of the buffet the beverages (which consisted of Chocolate Tea and all these amazingly tasty juices made from strange fruits or flowers) would be neatly assembled. I always tried some of the juices, but I had their Chocolate Tea religiously every morning as if my life depended on it. When they were late to get it out one morning, I just about died- no Chocolate Tea? WHAT?? I guess it’s a very popular drink in Saint Lucia, and I have no problem what-so-ever seeing why. :) Luckily, my Mom realized that the staff on the plantation sold the recipe, as well as locally dried and ground cocoa. I had to get my hands on both, of course!

As for the description, it creamy, spicy, and fluffy. Yes, that’s what it is. I know what you’re probably thinking right now, but that’s what the cornstarch in this recipe is for. It doesn’t make the drink thick or pudding-like in the least… it just makes it fluffy. I don’t know how to put it. No using skim milk for this recipe no matter what. It’ll ruin the texture and the flavor of the drink. Also, was I just not very knowledgeable, or is it very cool that bay leaves come from a cinnamon tree? And that nutmeg comes from the pit of a peach-like fruit? I don’t know these things.

Chocolate Tea Recipe:

1 cup cocoa powder

4 cups water

1 (14 oz.) can evaporated milk

1/3 cup 2% milk or cream

2 bay leaves

1 tsp. vanilla

2 tsp. cinnamon

a dash of nutmeg

2 Tbsp. cornstarch

Directions:

1. Over medium heat, boil the water, cinnamon, and bay leaves together for 15 minutes. Add the cocoa to the boiling water and boil for another 10 minutes. Add the evaporated milk and 2% milk and heat until hot but do not boil.  Using a whisk to stir it in, sprinkle the cornstarch into the cocoa mixture. Add the vanilla. Remove the bay leaves (or strain the mixture if you like).

2. Pour it into a mug. Add sugar to taste (it will be bitter without the sugar) and serve.

 3. This will redefine your definition of tea (or hot cocoa… either way)! :)

Leave a Reply

