Jam Thumbprints Cookies Recipe

Jam Thumbprint Cookies Recipe

Jam Thumbprint Cookies Recipe

This recipe (by Mrs. Fields) is pretty simple, tasty, and very presentable. When I first made them, I thought that they were going to be shortbread-y, but on the contrary, they are almost like a version of sugar cookies with a nice burst of berry flavor from my homemade jam. (I highly recommend using a homemade jam! It increases the quality of the cookies.) And no, the jam doesn’t ooze all over the place after the cookies are baked. I wondered about that when I first made them. :) Enjoy them with a cup of tea and be sure to keep your pinky finger pointed out!

Jam Thumbprint Cookies Recipe:

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 cup white sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1 egg

2  tsp. vanilla

about 3/4 cup jam

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees and grease a cookie sheet.

2. Combine sugar, egg. vanilla, and butter in a large bowl. Mix until smooth. Add the flour and the baking powder and mix until all ingredients are thoroughly combined. (It may seem like a lot of flour, but do not omit any of it.)

3. Roll the dough into 1 inch balls and using your thumb, make an indent in each of the cookies. Fill each indent with roughly 1/2 tsp. jam. Be sure not to make the indent too deep or the jam with bake through the bottom of the cookie and make for a pain-in-the-neck clean up. (I may be speaking from experience…) Also, be sure that your jam is not watery, otherwise it will get all over the baking sheet. Any store bought jam works well,  but I mostly use homemade jam for my recipes, so I have to be more careful about which jam I use. Just a precaution.

4. Bake the cookies for 12-17 minutes or until preferred texture (15 is the magical number for me). Read the note below for more details.

5. Be sure to leave a few cookies for other people to enjoy!

Note:

If you would like your cookies to be nice and soft but hold together, bake them for 12 minutes. They might not look done when you take them out. Anyway, after removing the cookies from the oven, proceed to wait one minute before carefully removing the cookies from the baking sheet.  If you would like your cookie to be a little bit firmer, bake it more towards the end of the suggested time and remove them immediately from the cookie sheet.

Leave a comment