Blueberry Crumble Pie Recipe

Blueberry Crumble Pie Recipe

Blueberry Crumble Pie Recipe

Blueberry Crumble Pie Recipe

Blueberry Crumble Pie Recipe

Blueberry Crumble Pie Recipe

Blueberry Crumble Pie Recipe

This recipe was another one of my tests. The first time I made it I used a different filling and it turned out super runny. Of course, everyone was saying “Katy this is so good! It’s not a good pie if it isn’t gooey!” I had a hard time trying to explain to them that there is a fine line between gooey and runny. I just didn’t think that I should have to serve pie in a bowl… :) And, as usual, I have my summer-time pie fever. Something about making pies is just so fun to me… they are, by far, my favorite baked goods to make.

This recipe is based off of a family favorite (apple crumble pie. See my post on it!) from the Devil’s Food Cookbook, but I switched out the apple pie filling for a blueberry pie filling by Betty Crocker. The pie got rave reviews and the best thing is that, for all you people out there who hate rolling out pie crusts, this crust recipe is a piece of cake or, more literally, easy as pie. Anyway, the crust has almost a creamy flavor (hence the cream cheese I guess…) and is matched well by the crumb topping. The filling complements both, of course, and knowing that it’s a blueberry filling, I don’t suppose that much could go wrong with it. :) The lemon frosting is a nice touch of zing (but not at all overpowering) and is the perfect finishing touch to the decadence.

Blueberry Crumble Pie Recipe:

For the Crust:

1 cup flour

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

4 0z. (1/2 package) cream cheese

For Filling:

4 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

1/2 cup white sugar

1/3 cup flour

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1 tbsp. butter

 For Crumb Topping:

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 cup flour

1/2 cup (1 stick)  butter

For Glaze:

1/2 cup powder

2-3  tsp. lemon juice

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and grease a 9 inch pie plate.

2. For crust: In a medium bowl, cut the butter into the flour with a knife . Using your hands or a pastry cutter, mix the butter-flour mixture to a coarse mixture. Add the cream cheese and continue mixing with your hands until a soft dough forms. Press the dough into the prepared pie plate.

3. For the Filling: Combine all of the filling ingredients except for the lemon juice and butter. Pour the filling into the pie plate and dot the butter on top before sprinkling the lemon juice over the filling.

5. For the Crumb Topping: Mix all of the ingredients except for the butter together in a small bowl. Cut the butter in and use a pastry cutter to make a crumbly mixture. Spread all of the crumble mixture over the pie and make sure that you cover all of the pie’s edges. You should not be able to see any filling.

6. Place the pie plate on a cookie sheet and bake for ten minutes. Then reduce the oven’s heat to 325 degrees and bake for 50-60 more minutes or until the crumble topping starts to turn a light golden brown. Allow the pie to cool.

7. Mix the powdered sugar and the lemon juice. Start off adding less lemon juice than suggested. Keep adding juice until the frosting is thin enough to drizzle. Be careful not to make it too thin, however, or the frosting will just soak in and the pie will not look as pretty.

8. Serve warm with a scoop of ice cream… on a plate, not in a bowl. :)

6 thoughts on “Blueberry Crumble Pie Recipe

  1. OK Miss Katy,
    This looks AMAZING! I will definitely be trying it because Uncle Jim’s favorite is blueberry pie, and I am a big fan of crumble toppings for pie. Is this the crust recipe for the peach pie that you made up in Ely?

    • Hi Aunt Joanie!
      I’m so glad that you will be trying this one! It’s definitely a winner pie recipe! As for the crust, this isn’t the recipe that I used up in Ely… I used the pastry in the cherry pie recipe that I posted. I probably should have used this recipe, though, considering that I had no rolling pin (which makes things considerably harder when you’re making a pie). :) Be sure to let me know what you think of the recipe! Hope to see you guys some time this summer!!!
      Katy

  2. I have to send virtual hand shakes. This pie is absolutely amazing. My husband wanted blueberry pie for his birthday cake and I’d never made one, first pie I’ve ever made in fact, he said it was hands down the best pie he has ever had. ever. Even with blueberry pie being his favorite.

    • I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed it so much! It is definitely a winner recipe. :) It is a great beginners pie in that the the crust doesn’t have to be rolled. I’ll have to try making it with the extra spices that you added as well! Thank you for the feedback!

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving Desserts: Recipe Round-up - Life with Gremlins

Leave a comment